Parks & Rec Commission-Banner-788x100 copy copy

Parks & Recreation Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Parks & Recreation Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council in all matters pertaining to parks, recreation, playgrounds and entertainment. The Commission oversees an annual Art and Wine Festival held in Central Park.

The Commission considers the annual budget of the Parks & Recreation Department during the process of its preparation and makes recommendations to the City Manager and the City Council. It assists in the planning and supervision of a recreation program for the inhabitants of the City, promotes and stimulates public interest, solicits the cooperation of school authorities and other public and private agencies.

The Parks & Recreation Commission consists of seven commissioners that are volunteers and are appointed by the City Council. To be eligible, you must be a registered voter and resident of Santa Clara, and may not hold any paid office in, or be employed by, the City of Santa Clara. For details call the City Clerk's office at (408) 615-2220. The Parks & Recreation Commission may also be contacted by email at

  • Meets: Generally meets on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 pm
  • Place: City Hall - Cafeteria, 1500 Warburton Avenue
  • Staff Liaison: James F. Teixeira, Director Parks & Recreation: (408) 615-2261

Commission Members

Burt-FieldBurt Field

Term Expires: June 30, 2023 
(First Term)

Martinez, Joe Joe Martinez

Term Expires: June 30, 2022
(First Term)

George Guerra George Guerra

Term Expires: June 30, 2021
(Second Term)

Eversley ForteEversley Forte

Term Expires: June 30, 2023
(Full Term)

Andrew Knack Andrew Knaack

Term Expires: June 30, 2022
(Second Term)

Kevan Michael Walke Kevan Michael Walke

Term Expires: June 30, 2020
(Second Term)

Roseann Alderete LaCoursiere Roseann Alderete LaCoursiere

Term Expires: June 30, 2020
(Second Term)

Everett N. "Eddie" Souza Park Unveiling

  • Date: 06/22/2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

On Saturday, June 22, the former San Tomas & Monroe Neighborhood Park will have its new sign unveiled, the "Everett N. ‘Eddie’ Souza Park” in a public ceremony at 10 a.m. The park opened in August 2018 is located at the corner of San Tomas Expressway and Monroe Streets.

Souza, a third generation Santa Claran, spent his lifetime involved in supporting community organizations, especially those that advocated for underprivileged residents. He was elected to the City Council in 1979 and served in that position until he was elected Mayor in 1986. He was re-elected for a second term as Mayor in 1990. In addition to his public service, he had a passion for apricot and pear orchards, grafting and composting. He passed away in 2016.

Under City Council policy, City parks and other facilities may be named in recognition of individuals, living or deceased, who have made outstanding contributions to the Santa Clara community and/or who made contributions of state, national or worldwide significance. Recommendations for naming originate from one of the City’s commissions or boards and is reviewed by the Council Ad Hoc Facilities Naming Committee before being considered by the City Council.


Return to full list >>
View Full Site