A statewide Stay at Home order is in effect until further notice. For local updates on the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak , visit

601 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95050

Connect with SCPD

Twitter@2x Facebook@2x YouTube@2x Instagram@2x nextdoor@2x nixle@2x email-icon Pinterest

Police Department

Command Staff Bios

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Executive Command Staff of the Santa Clara Police Department consists of five key individuals: an elected Chief of Police, an Assistant Chief of Police and four Captains who serve as Division Commanders. Below is a biographical sketch of the Santa Clara Police Department's Command Staff.

Elected Chief of Police Michael J. Sellers retired on September 1, 2019. Per City Council action on September 4, 2019, the Council voted unanimously to approve a March, 2020 election to fill the Chief of Police vacancy. In the interim, Assistant Chief of Police Daniel Winter has assumed the duties of the Chief of Police until the election. The Department  will continue the tradition of ethical policing and are committed to following the principles of our Values Statement that guide us every day.

Dan Winter, Assistant Chief of Police

Wahid Kazem, Administrative Services Division

Derek Rush, Special Operations Division

Todd Cummins, Investigations Division

Dan Moreno, Field Operations Division

View Full Site